You are here: Home > Products > Network File Search > Online Help > How to Delete Files over the Network

How to Delete Files over the Network

The program allows finding and deleting temporary and unnecessary files on remote network computers. The deleted files' paths are recorded to the "deletion log". If you have administrative access to the remote computers' disks, you can delete files not only on the shared resources but on hidden administrative disk shares (C$, D$, E$, etc.).

In order to delete all found files, enable the Delete found files option in the program settings. Enter the search string as you do when searching for files. Press the "Search" button. All found files will be deleted. You can watch the log file with all deleted file paths by clicking the Deletion Log button on the main window's toolbar. If some files are not deleted, the log will contain the corresponding message.

If you need to search and delete files constantly, enable the Scan with interval option in the program settings.
If you want to disable restoring the deleted files, enable the Wipe deletion option.

Warning! To avoid losing important data or upsetting the operation of your network computers, use the deletion function very carefully.

1. Firstly, we recommend you that you understand the program's operation and its search algorithms (how files are searched by file masks, what is added to search results, what if folder names correspond to search string, etc.).

2. Check the program's settings, filters, and search string carefully.

3. Before enabling the automatic file deletion, please make sure that no excess files are found. Afterwards, you can check out the deletion on a single computer. If everything performs as expected, you can carry out the deletion on all your network computers.